The EEA and Norway Grants represent the contribution of Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway towards a green, competitive and inclusive Europe. There are two overall objectives: reduction of economic and social disparities in Europe, and to strengthen bilateral relations between the donor countries and 15 EU countries in Central and Southern Europe and the Baltics. The three donor countries cooperate closely with the EU trough consecutive grant schemes between 1994 and 2014.

Total contribution

For the period 2014-2021, the total contribution is €2.8 billion.
The priorities for this period are:

1_Innovations, Research Education and Competitiveness;
2_Social Inclusion, Youth Employment and Poverty Reduction;
3_Environment, Energy, climate Change and Low Carbon Economy;
4_Culture, Civil Society, Good Governance and Fundamental Rights;
5_Justice and Home Affairs.

Our criteria

Eligibility for the Grants mirror the criteria set for the EU Cohesion Fund aimed at member countries
where the Gross National Income (GNI) per inhabitant is less than 90%of the EUU average.

The EEA and Norway Grants scheme consists of two financial mechanisms. The EEA Grand are jointly financed by Iceland,
Liechtenstein and Norway, whose contribution are based on their GDP. Norway Grants are financed solely by Norway.